Tags

, , , ,

…meal preparation ALWAYS gets the best of me. As we’ve added more traditional foods into our diet, I have STRUGGLED with planning ahead. Maybe, the problem is that we haven’t added too many new foods into our diet but rather changed our preparation of them. So whereas before, we just cooked our brown rice and baked with our flour, I now know the benefits of prepping them in a different manner. (Sheepishly) I must admit, I still do our old way of prepping 95% of the time. Yes, only about 5% of the time, do I actually remember to start my meal prep in the morning or even as early as the evening before. And yes, I know it only takes a mere few minutes to do these preparations…argh! 😦 I’m working on it though. You may all laugh at this but 5% is much more than I was doing…small strides.

Funny how these simple preparations have been so hard to incorporate into my life when I often have other preparations that I spend days on. This weekend we are celebrating our little girl’s first birthday and I’ve spent time preparing the menu and all of the other unnecessary “necessities” and it’s just part of my expectations of what the preparations entail.

So why have these daily preparations not yet become part of my expectations?

As I mentioned the food goals I had set for myself during these next six months (read here) I failed to mention this one. I’m adding this to my list! And I know it’s truly attainable. Do you think I can do this 95% of the time instead of the mere 5% that I’m doing now? If this is to become a reality I know the most important thing for me to do is to write myself notes or schedule it into my daily planner. Otherwise, forget it. I realize at 3 p.m. the day that I need my prepped food and resort back to my old manner of preparation.

This coming week, I’ll begin this next part of my challenge.

What’s helped you stay organized in the kitchen?


MEAL PLAN FOR THIS COMING WEEK:

Monday ~ Minestrone made with homemade chicken broth.

Meal prep: Soak rice and remove pre-cooked beans from freezer.

Tuesday ~ Bean Enchiladas with mexican rice

Meal prep: Soak flour

Wednesday ~ Pancakes and scrambled eggs

Thursday ~ Sausage & Sauerkraut (find recipe here)

Friday ~ Spaghetti and meatballs

Meal prep: Soak rice

Saturday ~ Curried lentils over rice

Sunday ~ Popcorn and smoothies

And if you’ve ever baked a cake (and succeeded!), please stop by my house this Friday afternoon at 2:15. 🙂 It really is embarrassing admitting that I have NEVER once made a cake.

__________________________________________________________________

Written by:

